Un Chien to release sophomore “Where We Belong” LP on Hand Drawn Records

The Fort Worth quintet’s new record “Where We Belong,” out on Jan. 13, channels new psych-rock influences



Un Chien // Natalie Knight Photography 2016

Left-to-Right: Taylor Craig Mills, Jerrett Lyday, Stephen Beatty, Rachel Gollay, Kris Knight: Un Chien (Psych-Rock, Fort Worth, Texas) // All photos by Natalie Knight 2016

Hand Drawn Records is thrilled to announce the release of a ten track LP “Where We Belong,” on Friday, Jan. 13. The Fort Worth-based quintet will celebrate the release in the form of an album release party the following evening, Saturday, Jan. 14, at Lola’s Saloon in Fort Worth, Texas with good friends, Fort Worth’s War Party (Dreamy Life Records) and Cut Throat Finches (Hand Drawn Records).

Lola's Saloon (Fort Worth, Texas)

“…brilliant and imaginative band.” – On Tour Monthly

The five-piece psych-rock band Un Chien consists of bassist Taylor Craig, vocalist Stephen Beatty, keyboardist Kris Knight, guitarist/background vocalist Rachel Gollay, and drummer Jerrett Lyday. In pursuit of a more experimental sound, band leader Stephen Beatty left the long-running rock band, Stella Rose to assemble a group of like-minded musicians. After a stellar independent release of their debut EP in the spring of 2013, the band was signed to local record label Hand Drawn Records.

Rachel Gollay (vocals, guitar), Un Chien // Natalie Knight Photography 2016

"Combining ethereal harmonies from their fellow Fort Worth artist Gollay with beguiling jingle-jangle hooks, “Amarillo” has all the hallmarks of the consummate summer hit." -KXT 91.7

Heavily influenced by the psychedelic styling of ‘60s rock and blues, to the brooding shoegaze and grunge eras to craft a sound all their own, the super group quickly garnered attention as one of North Texas’ most exciting live acts. Their self-titled debut resulted in several local award wins and nominations, including Fort Worth Weekly’s “Indie Rock Album of the Year” and vocalist Rachel Gollay’s personal win for “Best Female Vocal Performance” in 2014 and have followed up with numerous nominations since (2015 & 2016).

Un Chien // Stephen Beatty (Gtr, Vocals)

“…("Amarillo") was very cathartic for me, reflecting on a long distance relationship and the ending of that relationship.” -Stephen Beatty

Un Chien’s sophomore record, “Where We Belong,” recorded to analog tape in its entirety at Deep Ellum’s all-analog studio, Ferralog Recording Studios with producer Nathan Adamson. With principle songwriter Stephen Beatty on lead vocals, award-winning female vocalist Rachel Gollay on background vocals and lead guitar, storied singer/songwriter, Taylor Craig Mills on bass guitar, Kris Knight on keys, and Jerrett Lyday on percussion, the Fort Worth, Texas supergroup channeled heavy psych-rock and 60's guitar-pop influences to provide a refreshingly energetic take on a typically heady genre.

(DALLAS, TEXAS – December 15, 2016; source: CultureHype)

"WHERE WE BELONG""Where We Belong" LP by Un Chien

"Where We Belong" LP // Cover art by Brandon Callies


  1. Slow
  2. Stranger Things
  3. Amarillo *album single
  4. Never Coming Back *album single
  5. Beautiful Day
  6. She’s Got It All
  7. The Way She Goes
  8. Do You Know Who I Am?
  9. I Won’t Die Alone
  10. Where We Belong